Comparison
Restaurant POS systems compared. One subscription for your whole venue.
With most providers, every device needs its own licence, and QR ordering, a kitchen display or delivery come on top as a package or module. With Jamatu, everything is included in the subscription, with TWINT, a payment terminal with no purchase price and round-the-clock support from Switzerland.
- CHF 35 per month per venue
- Free payment terminal
- No fixed fee per transaction
- Cancel monthly, no prepayment
Eight providers compared, with prices in Swiss francs, sources and retrieval dates.
At a glance
What you get with Jamatu, and what the others charge
What the providers publish for Switzerland. Click a name to open the detailed comparison.
| What you need | Jamatu | Lightspeed | Klara | SumUp | helloTESS |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Software per month | from CHF 35 for the whole venue | from CHF 89 | from CHF 48 per till | CHF 0, with table plan CHF 49 | CHF 80 per device |
| Billed | per venue | per device | per till | not stated | per device, plus back office and support |
| Payment terminal | free | not stated | CHF 199 to 499 | from CHF 49 | not stated |
| Card fees | in the quote, no fixed fee per transaction | not stated | 1.7% on all payment methods | 1.50% debit, 2.50% credit | not stated |
| TWINT | yes | not stated | not stated | not listed | not stated |
| QR code ordering at the table | no monthly fee | from the Core package | not stated | only with Kassensystem Plus, 2.5% per order | not stated |
| Pickup and delivery | no monthly fee | from the Pro package | online shop from CHF 35 | pickup with Kassensystem Plus | not stated |
| AI assistant | Jonida, beta | Lightspeed AI | AI in accounting | not stated | not stated |
| Support | 24/7 and on site | chat and phone around the clock | not stated | not stated | support contract CHF 30 per month, 24/7 |
| Contract | cancel monthly | monthly or yearly | annual subscription | cancel at any time | fixed 6 months |
«Not stated» means the provider does not publish it, it often only appears in the quote. It does not mean the feature is missing. Details, footnotes and worked examples are in each individual comparison.
Sources: the providers' public pages for Switzerland, retrieved from 19 to 21 October 2026; for helloTESS, list prices from a Swiss quote dated March 2025. Source for Jamatu: own terms, as of 21 October 2026.
Why Jamatu
Why venues switch to Jamatu
Not because of a single feature, but because the model fits everyday life in a restaurant.
01
One price for all devices
A second device for your service team should not mean a second licence. That is why you pay per venue, whether there is one till at the counter or five devices on the floor.
02
Guests order themselves
By QR code at the table, in the hotel room, for pickup or for delivery, and they pay with TWINT. JamOrder has no licence, setup or monthly fee.
03
AI that pitches in
Ask Jonida for today's revenue, mark a product as sold out or change a price. She shows you every change first.
04
From Switzerland, around the clock
Setup and training are free, on site too. Support comes around the clock directly from Jamatu, with no reseller in between.
All comparisons
Jamatu against eight providers
Each comparison with a table and worked examples in Swiss francs: what you save with Jamatu and why venues switch.
Comparison
Jamatu or Lightspeed
Per device instead of per venue: with five devices, Lightspeed Pro costs CHF 4,164 a year, Jamatu CHF 420.
See the comparisonComparison
Jamatu or Klara
Business suite or POS system: Klara comes from accounting, Jamatu from restaurant service.
See the comparisonComparison
Jamatu or SumUp
You pay for the free till through the fees: with CHF 40,000 in card sales a month, around CHF 9,600 a year.
See the comparisonComparison
Jamatu or helloTESS
Licence per device, back office and support as separate items, fixed for six months. With three devices, CHF 1,910 more a year.
See the comparisonComparison
Jamatu or orderbird
A licence for every additional device, a 12-month term, and guests cannot order themselves by QR code.
See the comparisonComparison
Jamatu or Gastronovi
Till per device, with cash book, reservations and ordering system as modules. With three devices, CHF 3,622 more a year.
See the comparisonComparison
Jamatu or Hypersoft
Grown over more than 30 years and assembled from modules, with setup and training charged by the hour.
See the comparisonComparison
Jamatu or Hiopos
Buying the till and card terminal through a reseller, instead of one subscription per venue with a terminal at no purchase price.
See the comparison
What matters
Four questions to ask of every quote
On a feature list, POS systems look much alike. These four points make the difference.
01
Per venue or per device?
With many providers, a second device for your service team means a second licence. Count every device you need on a busy evening.
02
What does each payment cost?
The percentage and the fixed fee per transaction together. Ten centimes per payment add up to CHF 1,200 a year with 1,000 card payments a month.
03
What is in the subscription, what is a module?
QR ordering, kitchen display, reservations and cash book: are they in the package, or do they come as an add-on with their own monthly fee?
04
How do I get out again?
Minimum term, notice period and automatic renewal. And who helps you: the provider itself or a reseller in between.
All criteria in our guide
In practice
Venues that work with Jamatu
«JamOrder macht die Essensbestellung für unsere Mitarbeiter schnell, einfach und stressfrei!»
Thomas BreitingerHead of Hospitality, Senevita Obstgarten
«Mit JamOrder haben wir digitale Effizienz und persönlichen Luxus perfekt kombiniert, ein Gewinn für Gäste und Mitarbeiter!»
Bardhyl ColiDirector, Cresta Palace, Celerina
Frequently asked questions
What venues ask us
Which POS system is best for restaurants in Switzerland?
The one that fits your venue. For restaurants, bars, cafés and hotels with table service, several devices, TWINT and self-ordering by QR code, a subscription per venue almost always pays off. Jamatu is built for exactly that, with everything in the subscription and support from Switzerland. How much you save compared with your current provider is shown in each comparison.
How much does a restaurant POS system cost?
In Switzerland, the software usually costs between CHF 0 and CHF 250 a month, depending on the package and the number of devices. On top of that come the terminal, hardware and the fees per payment, which are often the biggest cost. Jamatu costs CHF 49 a month, from CHF 35 with prepayment, for the whole venue, and the payment terminal is free.
What does «not stated» mean?
That the provider does not publish the information, it usually only appears in the quote. It does not mean the feature or price does not exist. Ask for the figures in your quote, and the comparison is complete.
How up to date is the information?
Every figure comes from the providers' public pages, with the retrieval date in the source. We review the comparisons regularly and update them when a provider changes its prices or packages.
Can you compare my quote?
Yes. Bring your quote or your latest statement, and we will set our terms next to it and work through your case, including software, hardware and fees.
Demo
See Jamatu for yourself
In our demo you click your way through the floor plan, courses and payment all the way to the end-of-day closing. Once you sign up, we activate your access.
- Free and with no obligation
- In your browser, no installation





